My Childhood Home

Hello dear friends,

I wanted to share something non-stitchy today.

This is the house I grew up in:

003

With its big backyard:

006

And pool (which I almost drowned in when I was 2. LOL!)

004

My parents moved out last week. I am sad thinking I will no longer drive down this street and walk through the front door or swim in the pool. There are a lot of memories in this house that I will always have with me like swimming with my friends in the summer all day long without a care in the world. As a kid that was the best summer ever.

There were lots of kids to play with and everyone knew each other. It was a great place to grow up.

The street has changed a lot over the years. All the kids have grown and moved on, people have sold and moved elsewhere, and some of the older people have passed on. Younger families  are moving in now and will give new life to the neighborhood.

A young family is moving in to my parents house and I take comfort in knowing that they will be making memories of their own just like we did.They adore the house so it will also be well cared for.

It is time to move on and let someone else make great memories.

Have a great day!

~Maureen~

 

3 thoughts on “My Childhood Home

  1. Oh Maureen, treasure those memories. Your childhood home looks delightful especially with the big backyard. I know you will miss walking in, but at least it will continue to be loved by another family. Thinking of you!

  2. I know what you’re feeling, Maureen as I went through this same thing a few years back with the only home I ever lived in from age 5 to the time I got married. I still take walks through the house (in my mind) recalling every little detail and it gives me some comfort. It’s nice to know there is a young family living there and tending it 🙂

Leave a Reply

