My Summer Finishes

Hello friends,

I know I haven’t posted in a few weeks. Reasons being I am spending time with Madison and I didn’t have anything finished to post anyway. Now that summer is winding down, I hope to post more regularly. I am beginning to get into fall stitching mode. The weather sure has felt like it.

I wanted to share with you today what I have been working on this summer. I have mentioned before about my love of the 1000 Islands.

005

This is what we see when we walk out in front of our cottage. This picture was taken in the morning so the water is really calm. If you look closely at the bottom of the picture you can see the bottom of the river. It’s really shallow right there. I love being on the river. My visits there are so relaxing and I get lots of stitching done. LOL! I recently had my last trip up there for the year. It makes me sad for 2 reasons: 1) Summer is coming to an end and 2) I won’t be on the river until next year.

To keep the 1000 Islands alive in my mind all year I’ve decided to design patterns that remind me of it. (It seems I have mentioned this before but am now going to follow through.) Some I probably will sell and others I will keep for myself. I have a very long list of ideas and more keep popping into my head so the list grows every day. So here is some of my summer stitching:

010

Love Story: I called it this because of the love story between George and Louise Boldt. The story of Boldt Castle is my all time favorite. I aged the fabric after I stitched it and I think it came out pretty well. I filled it with walnut shells and also made a matching fob to go with it.

011

Made this into a pincushion to resemble Alexandria Bay. The small town in the 1000 Islands where everything happens. I also made a fish fob and thread keep to go with this one.

009

I made these sweet fish pillows. One for me and one to leave up at our cottage. I sewed up pillows using the fish fabric and then attached my stitched fish in the corner. It is actually the same fish I used for my fob and thread keep. I love how they turned out. I have ideas for other ones.

002

This little pillow resembles my little paradise. I have a thing for pine trees lately. I seem to like stitching them but there are also lots of pine trees up there. The fabric is what I used for the back. I also used this for The Bay. It’s perfect cottagey fabric.

Now I just have to say that the fobs I showed you, well, I changed my mind and I have them hanging on my little tree. They are now ornaments. So since I love smalls I am going to make more into ornaments and have a 1000 Islands type tree. Love my trees!

So that’s it. I have place all these in a basket for my viewing pleasure. As I said I may have future designs that I will offer up for sale. I also have several ways I want to finish these designs as well. It’s on my LONG winter projects list. LOL! Gotta have something to get me through the LONG winter. Right!

Well this is a longer post than usual for me so if your still reading I thank you from the bottom of my heart. It means alot to me. Thank you also for the comments you all leave. I really appreciate your kind words.

One last thing, Please send prayers to my friend Maggee and her husband. Her husband is in the ICU and prayers are much needed right now. Thank You!

Happy Stitching Everyone!

~Maureen~

3 thoughts on “My Summer Finishes

  1. They look great! I really like George and Louise but my favorite is the last one of the cottage and the pine tree! Hope all is going well. Have a wonderful day and keep up the good work! Happy stitching, Kimberly

    Kimberly

  2. Enjoyed reading your post and seeing all your fabulous finishes, Maureen! I know you will enjoy looking at them and bringing forth your memories of your cottage and time spent on the river. I would love to see a picture of your tree. Enjoy your weekend!

  3. Oh, I love the view from your cottage, Maureen! How absolutely peaceful… I can see why you love it there so much and your sweet finishes will always remind you of one of your favorite destinations… All of them are so cute!

    Enjoy the rest of your summer and your time with your daughter–hard to believe school starts next week!

Leave a Reply

